A Starr, and lots of propositions

Wednesday, April 2, 2014 - 18:48


It’s almost official: Bill Starr retains his Anchorage Assembly seat.

According to the preliminary April 1 Anchorage Municipal election results, Starr leads Sharon Gibbons by around 1,250 votes, with 17 od 19 precincts reported.

Starr and Gibbons both vied for Assembly District 2 Seat 3.

Starr, running for re-election, centered his platform around budget problems and fixes while Gibbons, a first-time Assembly candidate, geared her campaign around accessibility and constituent concerns.

Over on the Anchorage School Board races, Dean Williams tallied in at second-place behind incumbent Pat Higgins for Seat C.

Higgins secured almost 50 percent more of the votes, with a 51.96 percent lead over William’s 28.09 percent. Lizz Ross came in third with 18.63 percent of the vote.

There is currently no one from the Chugiak-Eagle River area representing the Anchorage School Board.

Things were a bit more heated around Seat D, where Kameron Perez-Verdia faced off against Don Smith, whose negative comments against foreign students on a recent public radio station interview stirred up quite a bit of controversy.

Perez-Verdia leads by about 5,000 votes with 122 of 124 precincts counted.

As far as propositions, it looks as if most of the nine ballots will pass. The only iffy one at this point is Proposition 3 Capital Improvements, which grants money to repair structural elements at Loussac Library plus move Mulcahy stadium and fund City Hall security.

The No votes lead by about 350 votes.

One big election night surprise is Pete Petersen’s lead over incumbent Adam Trombley for the East Anchorage Assembly seat.

At last count, Petersen led by about 3,000 votes.

Absentee ballots have yet to be counted and results could possibly sway close races.


Facebook comments