Chugiak, Eagle River varsity, JV volleyball teams announced

Wednesday, August 20, 2014 - 23:00
The Eagle River volleyball team and coaches enjoy a recent hike up Mount Baldy.

With some of the best registration numbers of any of the fall sports, coaches at Eagle River and Chugiak High schools had some tough decisions in naming their varsity and junior varsity volleyball team rosters last week.

Returning Chugiak coach Bobbi Mason had more than 70 athletes turn out for the program’s four team.

She opted to go light on varsity numbers, with 10 athletes and 14 on JV. Numbers for the two C teams were capped at 12. Final decisions were made last Friday.

Varsity: Rachel Gregg, Anna Ingraham, Sara Rutz, Ashlynn Burgess, Emily Moorehead, Samantha Cooper, Emma Toth, Megan Meadows, Sinjin Smith and Makenna Girard. JV: - Malia Morttensen, Jesi Robinson, Allison Chase, Rebecca Henckel, Hannah Eastman. Kaitlin Hampton, Briday Knittle, Christina Warnke, Ashton Lekites, Alina Purcell, Gabi Chase, Katie Bozone, Sam Harris, Karlie Jones and Coach Amy Mestas; C-1: Allie Ortiz, Haylee Huck, Emily Walden, Hailey Barnes, Jaycie Bell, Tia DelRosso, Noelle Flodin, Emma Kohler, Megan Miller, Claire Applebee, Rebekah Smith, Julie Gallagher and Coach Kiri Lierman; C-2: Darby Mullen, Nadia Johnson, Nadia Paul, Dracy Saari, Ayvree Wegner, Kathryn Stewart, Gabi Dedmore, Vyctoria Lopez, Erin Mullen, Gwyneth Gavalya, Faith Marroquin, Alanis Abdelnor and Coach Danielle Keller.


Eagle River

First-year Eagle River High coach Lindsey Wilkens said that the naming of players on the Wolves’ three teams were made earlier last week, but that additional players have since come out and will be placed accordingly.

Wilkens said she believe her team’s strength will have to be defense.

“We are going to have to learn to be scrappy out there on the court,” she said Sunday.

Current rosters are as follows:

Varsity: Paige Ardizzone, Alison Cameron, Lindsey Foster, Krystil Hall, Paige Harder, Sierra Perry, Riley Spiller, Kara Viotto, Jayme Whipple and Hannah Yaw; JV: Grace Burningham, Evan Ellis, Sarah Feinstein, Beth Gonzalez, Sarah Levesque, Madison Malott, Hannah Fonville, Geena Graf, Leanne Podelski and Coach Stacie Meisner; C: Antonia Atkinson, Serena Gosenberg, Hanna Hardman, Lauryn Mulkey, Reid Myers, Audrey Pettileone, Erina Heineman and Coach Chris Putnam.

The season opens with a district-wide scrimmage on Aug. 23, with the first regular season match on Aug. 26 as Eagle River travels to South Anchorage High and Chugiak plays at West. Varsity games begin at 7:15 p.m., preceded by C action at 5 p.m., and JV, 6 p.m.

Facebook comments