2013 Star Summer Events Calendar



Published:

From parades to parties, there’s plenty going on around Chugiak-Eagle River this summer! Among the biggest events of the summer are the Annual Scottish Highland Games, the annual July 3 fireworks show in Lions Park, Chugiak’s Fourth of July Parade and the Bear Paw Festival. There’s also a full slate of races, community events and lots of Alaska Baseball League games at Loretta French Park on the Old Glenn Highway in Chugiak, where the Chugiak-Eagle River Chinooks play their home games. Hold onto this calendar all summer long to keep track of what promises to be a fun (and busy!) season in Chugiak-Eagle River...

 

Saturday, May 4

• OUTDOOR SAFETY

Moose and Bear Safety for Kids. 2 p.m., Eagle River Nature Center. Learn to stay safe by becoming “bear aware.” Free program, $5 parking for nonmembers. Call 694-2108 for more information.

 

Tuesday, May 7

• WATER SAFETY

Paddlesports America kayak safety course. 6:30 p.m., UAA Chugiak-Eagle River Campus, 10928 Eagle River Road. This three-hour safety seminar is for novice canoers, kayakers and other paddlesports enthusiasts. To register and pay the $25 fee in advance, go to the Active.com Web site. Call 694-3570 for more information.

 

Saturday, May 11

• RUNNING

Eagle River Challenge. 5k/10k trail run, Eagle River Nature Center. $30. Call 694-2108 for more information.

Birchwood Camp 5k/1-miler. Meet at 9:15 a.m. at Birchwood Camp. Scenic trail run. $20 adults/$10 children. Call 688-2734 for more information.

 

Saturday, May 25

• FUNDRAISER

Relay for Life Rummage Sale. 9 a.m., Joy Lutheran Church, Eagle River.

 

Sunday, June 2

• TRIATHLON

Eagle River Triathlon. 8 a.m., Chugiak High. 500 yard swim, 12-mile bike, 5k run. Visit eaglerivertri.com for more information.

Eklutna Lake Challenge. 9 a.m., Eklutna Lake Visitor’s Center. Includes a 3-mile bike ride, 3-mile run and 3-mile kayak race. $35. Call 746-4644 for more information.

 

Sunday, June 9

• BASEBALL

Chinooks @ Mat-Su, 4 p.m.

 

Monday, June 10

• BASEBALL

Mat-Su @ Chinooks, 7 p.m.

 

Tuesday, June 11

• BASEBALL

Panners @ Chinooks, 7 p.m.

 

Wednesday, June 12

• BASEBALL

Chinooks @ Mat-Su, 7 p.m.

 

Thursday, June 13

• RUNNING

Kickin’ Asphalt in Eagle River. Meet at 5:30 p.m. at the McDonald Center. 5-kilometer race around Fire Lake. $25 individual/$30 family. Call 688-2633 for more information.

 

Friday, June 14

• BASEBALL

Glacier Pilots @ Chinooks, 7 p.m.

 

Saturday, June 15

• BASEBALL

Legion All-Stars @ Chinooks, 7 p.m.

 

Sunday, June 16

• BASEBALL

Chinooks @ Glacier Pilots, 5 p.m.

 

Monday, June 17

• BASEBALL

Chinooks @ Bucs, 7 p.m.

 

Tuesday, June 18

• BASEBALL

Chinooks @ Glacier Pilots, 7 p.m.

 

Wednesday, June 19

• BASEBALL

Glacier Pilots @ Chinooks, 7 p.m.

 

Thursday, June 20

• BASEBALL

Glacier Pilots @ Chinooks, 7 p.m.

 

Friday, June 21

• BASEBALL

Chinooks @ Bucs (doubleheader), 6 p.m.

 

Saturday, June 22

• BASEBALL

Chinooks @ Mat-Su, 7 p.m.

 

Sunday, June 23

• PICNIC

Chugiak Volunteer Fire Department Appreciation Picnic. 12:30 p.m., United Methodist Church of Chugiak. Free and open to the public.

 

Monday, June 24

• BASEBALL

Oilers @ Chinooks, 7 p.m.

 

Tuesday, June 25

• BASEBALL

Chinooks @ Miners, 7 p.m.

 

Thursday, June 27

• BASEBALL

Chinooks @ Glacier Pilots, 7 p.m.

 

Saturday, June 29

• HIGHLAND GAMES

32nd Annual Alaska Scottish Highland Games

An annual celebration of Scottish culture and sport. Eagle River Lions Park, 10 a.m. Advance tickets $12.50 for adults/$4 for children ($15/$5 at the gate). Visit www.alaskascottish.org for more information.

• RUNNING

ACMHS Mud Run. 10 a.m., location TBD. 5-kilometer mud run. $35. Call 261-5395 for more information.

• BASEBALL

Chinooks @ Bucs, 4 p.m.

 

Sunday, June 30

• BASEBALL

Glacier Pilots @ Chinooks, 5 p.m.

 

Tuesday, July 2

• BASEBALL

Chinooks @ Peninsula, 7 p.m.

 

Wednesday, July 3

• EVENT

July 3 community celebration. 6 p.m., Eagle River Lions Park. Includes booths, entertainment and more. Free community celebration with fireworks at midnight.

• BASEBALL

Chinooks @ Peninsula, 7 p.m.

 

Thursday, July 4

• PARADE

Chugiak Fourth of July Parade. Parade begins at 11 a.m. at Latimer Fire Station on the Old Glenn Highway. Booths and entertainment to follow. Free.

• BASEBALL

Chinooks @ Peninsula, 7 p.m.

 

Friday, July 5

• BASEBALL

Chinooks @ Peninsula, 7 p.m.

 

Saturday, July 6

• BASEBALL

Mat-Su @ Chinooks, 7 p.m.

 

Sunday, July 7

• BASEBALL

Fairbanks @ Chinooks, 5 p.m.

 

Monday, July 8

• BASEBALL

Peninsula @ Chinooks, 7 p.m.

 

Tuesday, July 9

• BASEBALL

Chinooks @ Fairbanks, 7 p.m.

 

Wednesday, July 10

• FESTIVAL

Bear Paw Festival. Annual community celebration in downtown Eagle River. For a full schedule of events, visit bearpawfestival.org.

• BASEBALL

Chinooks @ Fairbanks, 7 p.m.

 

Thursday, July 11

• FESTIVAL

Bear Paw Festival. Annual community celebration in downtown Eagle River. For a full schedule of events, visit bearpawfestival.org.

• BASEBALL

Chinooks @ Fairbanks, 7 p.m.

 

Saturday, July 13

• FESTIVAL

Bear Paw Festival. Annual community celebration in downtown Eagle River. For a full schedule of events, visit bearpawfestival.org.

• RUNNING

Bear Paw 5K. 10:30 a.m., downtown Eagle River. $30. Visit www.cer.org for more information.

• BASEBALL

Chinooks @ Mat-Su, 7 p.m.

 

Sunday, July 14

• FESTIVAL

Bear Paw Festival. Annual community celebration in downtown Eagle River. For a full schedule of events, visit bearpawfestival.org.

• BASEBALL

Chinooks @ Mat-Su, 4 p.m.

 

Tuesday, July 16

• BASEBALL

Mat-Su @ Chinooks, 6 p.m.

 

Wednesday, July 17

• BASEBALL

Mat-Su @ Chinooks, 6 p.m.

 

Friday, July 19

• BASEBALL

Chinooks @ ABL Showcase in Anchorage, 1 p.m.

 

Saturday, July 20

• BASEBALL

Chinooks @ ABL Showcase in Anchorage, 7 p.m.

 

Sunday, July 21

• BASEBALL

ABL Home Run Derby and All-Star Game, Anchorage, 1 p.m.

 

Monday, July 22

• BASEBALL

Peninsula @ Chinooks, 6 p.m.

 

Tuesday, July 23

• BASEBALL

Panners @ Chinooks (Doubleheader), 4 p.m.

 

Thursday, July 25

• BASEBALL

Bucs @ Chinooks, 6 p.m.

 

Friday, July 26

• BASEBALL

Bucs @ Chinooks, 6 p.m.

 

Saturday, July 27

• BASEBALL

Bucs @ Chinooks, 6 p.m.

• MOUNTAIN RUNNING

Crow Pass Crossing. 24-mile run from Girdwood to Eagle River Nature Center. $60/limited to 120 athletes. Call 786-1325 for more information.

 

Sunday, July 29

• BASEBALL

ABL Tournament, TBA

 

Monday, July 30

• BASEBALL

ABL Tournament, TBA

 

Tuesday, July 31

• BASEBALL

ABL Tournament, TBA

 

Wednesday, Aug. 1

• BASEBALL

ABL Tournament, TBA

 

Thursday, Aug. 2

• BASEBALL

ABL Tournament, TBA

 

Friday, Aug. 3

• FUNDRAISER

Chugiak-Eagle River Relay for Life. 7 p.m., Harry McDonald Field, Eagle River. Annual overnight walk to raise money for cancer research. Visit http://relay.acsevents.org/site/TR?fr_id=50542&pg=entry for more information.

• BASEBALL

ABL Tournament, TBA

 

Saturday, Aug. 4

• BASEBALL

ABL Tournament, TBA

Add your comment: