Turner named CIC flag Coach of the Year

Wednesday, October 19, 2011 - 20:00
Three Wolves, two Mustangs earn first-team recognition
Eagle River flag football coach Matt Turner was named the 2011 Cook Inlet Conference Coach of the Year following a vote of his peers last week.

Eagle River’s Matt Turner, who guided the Wolves to an 8-7 record this season, has been named the Cook Inlet Conference flag football Coach of the Year by a vote of his peers.

Eagle River failed to win a single game in each of the past two seasons, but turned things around in a big way this year. In addition to having a winning record, the Wolves also swept rival Chugiak during the regular season.

Eagle River junior wide receiver Skylar Metzel and Chugiak junior running back Kenzie Matthis were named to the first team All-CIC offensive team, which was announced last week. Named first-team defenders were Chugiak sophomore Sam Perez and Eagle River senior Meaghan Byman. Also getting a first-team nod was the Wolves’ Scout Warners, who made it as a utility player.

Second-team selections included Chugiak’s Autumn George, Elyse Perez and Andre Samaniego; along with Eagle River’s Gabi Mordini, Alyssa Randall and Paulette Mordini.

Facebook comments