"Bearfoot Awards Announced"

Wednesday, January 23, 2013 - 19:00

From a column by editor Rusty Bellringer in the Knik Arm Courier, Dec. 16, 1970:

The winners of the first annual “Bearfoot” awards for outstanding public service were announced at the annual meeting of the local Chamber of Commerce last Monday night in the Lions Den of the Eagle River Shopping Center.

The Citizen’s Award, for outstanding public service by an individual, went to Edward C. Willis of Eagle River. Willis, who is the Borough Assemblyman for this area, was recognized for his long record of community service both in and out of public office.

The Organizational Award went to the Chugiak Ladies Club. That organization was selected on the basis of the many programs of community betterment which they have sponsored, particularly in the fields of recreation and education.

A certificate and a ceramic plaque were presented to each winner. The placques, which were imprinted with the pawprint of a grizzly bear, give the informal name of “Bearfoot” award to the trophies.

Other candidates for the awards were all presented certificates of recognition. Those were, for the Citizens Award: Paul Swanson, Elsie Oberg, Elva Connell, Darlene Robinson, Laverne Weger and Jeraldine Armstrong.

Other organizations which were nominated were: Omicron Chapter of Beta Sigma, the Chugiak Volunteer Fire Co., the Eagle River Lions Club, and the Chugiak Benefit Association.

This award program was sponsored by the Chamber of Commerce, and is planned to be an annual event.


This column is provided by the Chugiak-Eagle River Historical Society. Reach them at [email protected] or leave a message at 688-4706.

Facebook comments