German language students honored

Wednesday, April 17, 2013 - 19:00

The Seventh Annual German Studies Awards Ceremony and Reception, sponsored by the Alaska Chapter of the American Association of Teachers of German (AATG), was held April 11 at East High School. The event recognized middle, high and university students in Alaska who have achieved excellence in their German studies. ASD Assistant Superintendent Darla Jones welcomed students to the event; Martin Buser, four-time Iditarod champion, spoke to students about his experience of immigrating to the United States from Switzerland and his experiences learning five languages including English. Also present were Anchorage School Board member Tam Agosti-Gisler and ASD World Languages Curriculum Coordinator Janice Gullickson. The majority of the students honored at this event were current ASD students or recent graduates.

Eagle River High School teacher Jennifer Doerry received the Duden Teacher Award for excellence in the instruction of German.

Honored as their schools’ Outstanding German Students of the Year were Chugiak’s Matthew Newkirk and Eagle River’s Hannah Gershel.

The AATG honored high school students who scored competitively on the National German Exams given by the AATG. The exams are designed for Levels 2, 3, and 4 and approximately 23,000 students in the USA took the exams this year. Students scoring in the 70th percentiles nationwide received bronze awards, those in the 80th percentiles received silver awards and those scoring in the 90th percentiles received gold awards. Receiving Gold Awards during the event were Chugiak’s Aileen Page, Dane Breitung, Connor Spencer, Shane Hall, Levente Roka, and Jackson Page. Eagle River students honored with Gold Awards were Daniel Prior and Hannah Gershel. Eagle River’s Nicholas Roth received a Silver Award. Bronze Awards went to Chugiak’s Sydney Medders, Sarah Rackley, Ashleigh Bransky and Sarah Haynes. Eagle River students receiving Bronze Awards included Alaina Demma, Dylan Denter, Annaliese Sorvoja, Michael Prado and Kevin Sutton.

Facebook comments