Chugiak girls soccer routs Eagle River

Friday, May 24, 2013 - 11:35
Mustangs, Wolves each lose four seniors
Chugiak’s Molly Romero, left, rushes in on goal as Eagle River’s Samantha Coy sprints after her Saturday, May 18 at The Dome. The Mustangs won the regular season finale 7-0.

It took four years, but Grace Ogden finally scored her first high school soccer goal.

The Chugiak defender put a low shot past Eagle River keeper Tara Fisher on a penalty kick in the second half of her final high school game to help the Mustangs to a 7-0 win over the Wolves on Saturday, May 18 at The Dome in Anchorage.

Ogden is one of four recent Chugiak graduates — all four-year players — who won’t be returning next season.

Leaving the tight-knit group won’t be easy, said senior Sierra Humphrey.

“I love this team so much,” she said. “It’s almost like a little family.”

Tristyn Hall netted a hat trick to lead the Mustangs. Jessi Beverlin, Tori Fishburn, both seniors, and junior Holly Brehmer also scored for Chugiak.

The Mustangs compiled a fourth-best 7-3-4 Cook Inlet Conference record. Had any of its draws been a victory, Chugiak would have earned one of three CIC state berths.

“We tied ourselves out of the playoffs,” head coach Paul Brehmer said.

This year, the coaches voted to forgo a conference tournament in favor of a less condensed season and instead send the top three teams at the end of the regular season to state. Dimond, South and Service will be representing the CIC at state, which will be held today (May 23) through Saturday, May 25 at Eagle River Field and Chugiak’s Huffer Stadium.

Eagle River finished the season 6-8 in the conference. The Wolves had played a much closer game in their first meeting with Chugiak this year — a 1-0 Mustangs win — but Eagle River had a short bench Saturday. Four of its players — Elexa Walker, Nikki Boggs, Allonna Walker and leading scorer Shayna Wolery — competed in the state track and field meet in Fairbanks.

The Wolves are also losing four seniors — Chris Bottini, Gaby Mordini, Elana Williams and Elexa Walker.

Mordini and Bottini, both four-year players, said they’ll miss playing every day.

Beating South this season ranks among the top memories for both recent graduates.

The newcomers to varsity progressed throughout the season, Mordini said, which bodes well for Eagle River’s future.

“The beginners, you could see them improve so much,” she said.

Four local players were First Team All Cook Inlet Conference selections. Those included Fisher (keeper), Mordini (utility), Holly Brehmer (midfield) and Beverlin (forward).

Second Team honors went to Boggs (midfield) and Mordini (defender).

Janissa Arzie (defender), Humphrey (defender), Fishburn (midfield), Hall (forward), Wolery (forward) and Bottini (utility) were honorable mention.


Contact Mike Nesper at 694-2727 or [email protected].


2013 All Cook Inlet Conference selections


First Team — Katelyn Sweeney, Dim; Tara Fisher, ER: Second Team — Trysten Bailey, South; Jaqueline Burke, South: Honorable Mention — Ruth Ann Lomu, Dim; Mia Kaiser, West.



First Team — Bobbye Pendleton, Dim; Alyssa Igtanloc, South; Morgan Heppner, West; Rachel Fischer, East: Second Team — Gabrielle Mordini, ER; Keely Jelinek, South; Samantha Manzer, West; Mariah Williams, South: Honorable Mention — Abby Stahl, Dim; Janissa Arzie, Chu; Monica Richardson, East; Sierra Humphrey, Chu.



First Team — Holly Brehmer, Chu; Grace Woern, East; Zoe Bailey, Ser; Kayle Blackmore, West: Second Team — Elizabeth Gogolowski, Dim; Callie Orizotti, South; Nikki Boggs, ER; Jesslin Wooliver, Ser: Honorable Mention — Alexis Traxinger, East; Tori Fishburn, Chu; Robin Hughes, East; Madison Richards, Dim.



First Team — Aaliyah Lewis, Dim; Morgan Hooe, South; Jessi Beverlin, Chu; Haleigh Van Allen, Ser: Second Team — Ariela Lewis, Dim; Annie Rush, West; Rochelle Jordan, East; Madasin Jennings, Ser: Honorable Mention — Kayla Simms, South; Tristyn Hall, Chu; Shayna Wolery, ER; Kerianne Hansen, Ser.



First Team — Leah Swiss, Dim; Olivia Grant, East; Madison Jungwirth, South; Gabrielle Mordini, ER: Second Team — Maya McPherson, West; Asia Harrington, East; Christine Richter, Ser; Mary Caelan Robinson, Bar: Honorable Mention — Christine Bottini, ER; Kasila Carey, Bar; Malia Lyken, Dim; Ashtyn Evans, South.

Facebook comments