Defections cause playoff shake-up

Wednesday, August 14, 2013 - 19:00

Five of the eight Cook Inlet Conference teams will earn berths in this year’s ASAA Alaska First National Bowl Large Schools Football playoffs.

The change (four CIC teams got in last year) was made after Juneau-Douglas and North Pole opted to move to the Medium Schools division.

Chugiak coach Duncan Shackelford said the change was an unintended consequence of the Alaska School Activities Association’s decision to move to three classifications two seasons ago.

“When they realigned that middle conference, they didn’t really think about how it was going to impact the large schools,” Shackelford said.

The five-team Railbelt Conference will get three bids to the Large Schools playoffs.

With the realignment, eight of the 13 Large Schools teams will reach the playoffs.

The change means the CIC’s No. 4 seed will play the conference’s No. 2 seed in the opening round of the state Large Schools playoffs, which begin Oct. 11. First-round games will be held at the higher seeded team’s home stadium, with semifinals and finals set for Anchorage Football Stadium.

Shackelford said the current system likely will continue to be tweaked in coming seasons.

“I’m sure they’ll be talking about improvements down the road,” he said. “Well see how things work out here.”


2013 ASAA Large Schools

First National Bowl Schedule


QUARTER FINALS (at Higher Seeds)

Friday-Saturday, Oct. 11-12

Game 1: Cook Inlet #1 vs. Railbelt #3

Game 2: Railbelt #2 vs. Cook Inlet #3

Game 3: Railbelt #1 vs. Cook Inlet #5

Game 4: Cook Inlet #2 vs. Cook Inlet #4


SEMI FINALS (at Anchorage Football Stadium)

Friday, Oct. 18

Large School sSemi-Final – TBD


Saturday, Oct. 19

Large Schools Semi-Final – TBD



Saturday, Oct. 26

Large Schools Championship Game – TBD

Facebook comments