Congressional delegation names service academy nominees

Wednesday, February 14, 2018 - 11:01

Alaska’s congressional delegation of Sens. Lisa Murkowski and Dan Sullivan, and Rep. Don Young have released their service academy nominations that include several local students.

“This year’s selection of candidates was exceptional — all exhibited the characteristics that will help them to succeed as leaders in our nation’s military: academic excellence, demonstrated leadership, and a commitment to serving their community and nation,” said Senator Sullivan.

“Nominating candidates for our nation’s outstanding Military Service Academies is one of my favorite things to do as a U.S. Senator. The backgrounds and experiences of these young Alaskans is humbling — I am so impressed with this field of exceptional future leaders who want to serve their country. It is an honor to be a part of this process.”

Murkowski said: “It is an honor to nominate such accomplished young adults for admission into our nation’s military academies. This year I received countless applications from talented young men and women from across the state. I know each of the nominees will be incredible representatives of our state.

“I wish them all the very best as they continue this rigorous process to become officers in our military and thank them for their willingness to serve our great nation.”

Said Young, “I’m always proud of the young students who are interested in serving our country. This year, I’m delighted to nominate an exceptional group of Alaskans to our nation’s service academies. These nominees reflect the values of our state and are a strong example of what the next generation can achieve. I wish them all the best in the academy appointment process and I look forward to seeing their many successes.”

U.S. military service academy nominees are selected based on their academic record, extracurricular activities, and leadership capacity. Though a congressional nomination to a service academy is an accomplishment within itself, it does not guarantee admission; service academies will make final decisions.

Three locals from Eagle River — Hanna Fitzgerald, Nolan Johnson, Victoria Slaven — earned nominations by all three members of the delegation to the U.S. Military Academy at West Point.

U.S. Air Force Academy:

Grant A. Barkhurst, Elmendorf AFB (Young)

Mikaela C. Becker, JBER (Young)

Isaac E. Bennett, Eagle River (Young)

Tamara Brabson, Eagle River (Sullivan)

Derek Jensen, JBER (Sullivan)

Gavin Kim, JBER (Murkowski)

Makinna Olmstead, Eagle River (Sullivan, Murkowski)

Garrett Smoot, JBER (Sullivan)

U.S. Merchant Marine Academy:

Kenneth C. Donnolly, JBER (Young)

Nolan Johnson, Eagle River (Sullivan)

U.S. Military Academy:

Michael Altenburg, JBER (Sullivan, Young)

Kenneth Donnelly, JBER (Murkowski)

Hanna Fitzgerald, Eagle River (Murkowski, Sullivan, Young)

Nolan Johnson, Eagle River (Murkowski, Sullivan, Young)

Victoria Slaven, Eagle River (Murkowski, Sullivan, Young)

Garrett Smoot, JBER (Sullivan, Young)

U.S. Naval Academy:

Tamara B. Brabson, Eagle River (Young)

Gavin K. Kim, JBER (Young)

Nicolas Osborne, Eagle River (Sullivan)

Facebook comments