Five earn All-CIC hockey recognition

Tuesday, February 7, 2012 - 10:11
Joey Lindquist makes a save during a game against Lathrop earlier this season. Lindquist, a senior, was one of two goalies named to the All-Cook Inlet Conference hockey team.

Four students from Chugiak High and one from Eagle River were named to the All-Cook Inlet Conference hockey teams, as voted on by the CIC’s coaches.

Named All-CIC on the girls side were Chugiak-Eagle River forward Rachel Russell, a senior at Chugiak, and defender Morgan Elledge, a CHS junior.

The Chugiak-Eagle River girls team also earned the CIC’s academic award with a combined 3.41 grade point average.

Chugiak senior goalie Joey Lindquist was one of two goalies named to the All-CIC team. Lindquist joined Chugiak junior Josh Smith on the squad. Also earning all conference recognition was Eagle River junior forward Brett Wood.

Dimond boys coach Dennis Sorensen was named the CIC’s Coach of the Year, while South’s Kjell Vassen earned that honor on the girls’ side.

All-Cook Inlet Conference hockey teams


Forwards — Kaitlin Miknich, soph., Service; Annie Rush, fr., West; Marianne Kristiansen, sr., West; Rachel Russell, sr., Chugiak; Brittany Stahle, sr., Bartlett; Katie Nokelby, jr., South

Defense — Riley Leary, jr., South; Ivy Weeks, jr., South; Morgan Elledge, jr., Chugiak; Kali Rutka, fr., Dimond

Goalies — Madi Davis, jr., South; Taylor Sebring, so., Dimond

Coach of the Year — Kjell Vassen, South

Academic Award — Chugiak-Eagle River, 3.41 GPA


Forwards — Aaron Mcinnis, sr., Service; Jeremy Smith, sr., Service; Andrew Cummings, jr., Service; Tyler Thompson, sr., Dimond; Shilo Vega, sr., Dimond; Aaron Dunlap, sr., Dimond; Daniel Sandstrom, sr., South; Kody Frantz, soph., South; Alex Jackstadt, sr., East; Josh Smith, jr., Chugiak; Zach Perry, sr., Bartlett; Brett Wood, jr., Eagle River

Defense — Blayde Briske, jr., Service; Christian Luiten, jr., East; Trevor Geerin, soph., South; Tyler Andrews, jr., Dimond; Mason Anderson, jr., Dimond; Tony Crow, jr., Dimond

Goalies — Joey Lindquist, sr., Chugiak; Taylor Sleater, sr., Dimond

Coach of the Year — Dennis Sorensen, Dimond

Academic Award — Service, 3.36 GPA

Facebook comments