ANR skiers post strong results at U.S. Championships

Friday, January 4, 2019 - 13:49
  • Star file photos/Matt Tunseth
  • Chugiak’s Adrianna Proffitt heads down a hill during the Service Snowball Nordic ski races on Saturday, Dec. 2, 2017 at Kincaid Park in Anchorage. (Star photo by Matt Tunseth)
  • Chugiak’s Max Beiergrohslein races during the Chugiak Stampede Nordic ski races at Bartlett High on Saturday, Jan. 13, 2017. The races were moved to Bartlett due to poor trail conditions at the Beach Lake Trails. (Star photo by Matt Tunseth)
  • Chugiak’s Michael Earnhart races to the finish line during the Service Snowball Nordic ski races on Saturday, Dec. 2, 2017 at Kincaid Park in Anchorage. (Star photo by Matt Tunseth)

Alaska Nordic Racing skiers are off to a fast start at nationals.

Chugiak High sophomore Michael Earnhart advanced to the bracket portion of Friday’s classic technique junior sprint race competition by placing 59th overall in the preliminary sprint and fourth in the U18 division. Earnhart’s performance earned him a spot in the junior boys quarterfinals, where he finished fourth in his heat and failed to advance, crossing the finish line just 0.29 seconds out of a semifinal spot.

Three members of the Chugiak-Eagle River based ski club are competing at nationals, which continue Sunday with freestyle mass start races. All three ANR racers attend Chugiak High School.

Earnhart’s ANR teammate Max Beiergrohslein was 188th Friday in the preliminary sprint and 38th among U18 racers.

Fellow ANR racer Adrianna Proffitt finished 132nd in Friday’s women’s sprint (28th in the U18 division) and did not advance to the junior bracket.

Fairbanks skier Kendall Kramer went on to win the gold medal in the junior sprint race, with Anchorage’s Molly Gellert claiming bronze. University of Vermont freshman Matias Ovrum won the junior men’s sprint.

In the senior races, Ida Sargent won gold in the women’s bracket. APU’s Hannah Halvorsen won the bronze medal. British Columbia’s Julien Locke won the men’s sprint, with Fairbanks’s Logan Hanneman (APU) claiming bronze as the top Alaskan.

Proffitt, Earnhart open strong

Proffitt was the top local performer during Thursday’s individual start classic race, placing 78th in the women’s 10-kilometer race and finishing eighth in the U18 age group. Alaskan Caitlin Patterson won the race, which saw Alaskans claim three age-group titles.

Earnhart was 116th in the men’s 15-kilometer classic race Thursday and 11th among U18 racers, while Beiergrohslein was 191st and 33rd in the U18 division. Minnesotan Kyle Bratrud won the men’s race, with David Norris placing fifth to claim the top spot among Alaskans.

Facebook comments