3 file for Chugiak-Eagle River Assembly seat

Saturday, February 2, 2019 - 00:21

A trio of candidates will square off to claim the soon-to-be-vacant Chugiak-Eagle River seat on the Anchorage Assembly.

As of the 5 p.m. Friday deadline, Crystal Kennedy, Oliver Schiess and Clayton Trotter have thrown their hats into the ring for the April 2 election, according to the Municipality of Anchorage.

Gretchen Wehmhoff currently holds Seat A on the Assembly. Wehmhoff vowed not to seek election after she was appointed to finish out the term of Amy Demboski, who left office last year after getting a job as deputy chief of staff for Gov. Mike Dunleavy.

Kennedy is a former school board member who served from 2003-12. The other two candidates have no elected experience but are no strangers to politics — Schiess ran an unsuccessful campaign for State Senate last year and Trotter failed in his bid for a U.S. Congress seat in Texas in 2010.

Kennedy lists her occupation as a paralegal and homemaker. She’s been a past legislative staffer for Rep. Lynn Gattis.

Schiess is a former U.S. Marine who works as a substitute teacher in the Anchorage School District.

Trotter is a former attorney who now works as a law professor at UAA. In addition to running for Congress in Texas, Trotter applied last year to fill the vacant seat in the Alaska State House to which Sharon Jackson was eventually appointed.

Friday was also the deadline to apply for seats on the Anchorage School board. The only local person to file for the board was Eagle River’s Kai Binkley-Sims, who is running for Seat A. Binkley-Sims is a co-owner of the Anchorage Daily News and the Chugiak-Eagle River Star. She’ll be running against Margo Bellamy and James Smallwood.

For more, visit muni.org.

Facebook comments