Local Girl Scouts awarded group’s highest honor

Monday, April 29, 2019 - 07:33
  • Allyson Brokaw
  • Carolyn Pope
  • Kayla Reifel

Three local Girl Scouts were presented with the group’s highest honor during the Girls Scouts of Alaska’s annual Leadership Luncheon April 18 at the Dena’ina Center in Anchorage.

Earning Gold Awards were Eagle River’s Kayla Reifel and Allyson Brokaw, along with JBER’s Carolyn Pope. The three were joined by Anchorage’s Quinn White and Petersburg’s Avery Herrman-Sakamoto in receiving the awards.

In order to earn a Gold Award, Girl Scouts must work on a project that addresses a community need.

“One must define a problem, develop a proposal and budget, work with community members, and implement a sustainable plan,” Girl Scouts of Alaska wrote in a press release about the awards.

Each of the girls’ projects was unique. Reifel built a trail kiosk at the Mirror Lake singletrack trails, Brokaw worked with officials in Germany to create toy checkout bins for military children overseas and Pope compiled a list of national high school graduation requirements to help military students more easily research credit requirements.

““Gold Award recipients are an elite group of Girl Scouts,” Girls Scouts of Alaska CEO Leslie Ridle said. “They are go-getters, leaders, and the change-makers in their communities. We are so proud of them and can’t wait to see what they do next.”

The luncheon was attended by Girls Scouts of the USA president Dr. Kathy Hannan, who praised the young women for their leadership.

“I am honored to be here celebrating the successes of Girl Scouts of Alaska and the Gold Award Girl Scouts,” Hannan said. “The drive necessary to complete this highest award will take them far in life.”

Facebook comments