Wolves to defend ‘Bridge’ trophy for the first time Saturday against Chugiak

Friday, October 4, 2019 - 10:07

Throw the records off the bridge, it’s rivary time.

Chugiak and Eagle River will square off at 2 p.m. Saturday at the “Wolves’ Den” in Eagle River in the annual “Battle of the Bridge” football game between the two rival schools.

The Wolves claimed their first on-field win over the Mustangs last year in a 34-21 road win at Tom Huffer Sr. Stadium. The victory lifted the Wolves to 2-9 all-time against Chugiak, though 2011’s win came by forfeit after Chugiak was determined to have used an ineligible placekicker.

The two high schools are only about five miles apart but separated by the Eagle River Valley and the Eagle River Bridge on the Glenn Highway. The traveling ‘Battle of the Bridge’ trophy features a silver football atop a wooden platform that’s topped with sculptures of a wolf and mustang.

Both teams enter the game having clinched playoff berths, with the Mustangs finishing tied for first in the Division I Chugach Conference and the Wolves finishing second in the Division II Northern Lights Conference. However, both are also coming off tough losses after Chugiak fell to nonconference South on Friday and the Wolves lost to NLC powerhouse Soldotna Saturday.

[[Read more: It’s the last weekend before football playoffs, and seedings are at stake (via ADN)]]

Both teams will learn who they play and where following the results of games elsewhere Friday and Saturday. Chugiak can claim the No. 1 seed out of the Chugach Conference if Bartlett beats Juneau, while the Mustangs would finish second with a Juneau win. Either way, Chugiak will host a home playoff game in the Division I quarterfinals.

Eagle River will have the No. 2 seed from the NLC and travel to either Lathrop or West Valley for the Division II semifinals depending on which Fairbanks team wins Saturday’s “Dog Bowl.”

Chugiak vs. Eagle River football past results:

2006 - Chugiak 49, Eagle River 6

2007 - Chugiak 52, Eagle River 7

2008 - Chugiak 41, Eagle River 0

2009 - Chugiak 34, Eagle River 0

2010 - Chugiak 27, Eagle River 14

*2011 - Chugiak 35, Eagle River 14

2012 - Chugiak 13, Eagle River 7

2013 - Chugiak 44, Eagle River 28

2014 - Chugiak 50, Eagle River 13

2015 - Chugiak 61, Eagle River 14

2016 - No game played

2017 - No game played

2018 - Eagle River 34, Chugiak 21

* Eagle River won by forfeit


Facebook comments