Four Chugiak-Eagle River hockey players to lace ‘em up for Aces alumni games

Friday, November 8, 2019 - 11:32
  • Eagle River’s Brian Swanson of the Alaska Aces chases after a puck in front of the Bakersfield net during first-period action Jan. 28, 2011, at Sullivan Arena in Anchorage. (Anchorage Daily News file photo)

Four Chugiak-Eagle River hockey players will turn back the clock this weekend for a much-anticipated Alaska Aces alumni game at Sullivan Arena in Anchorage.

Local skaters Pete McEnaney, Brian Swanson and Justin Martin will join goalie John DeCaro on the ice for the event, which will bring more than 60 former Aces players and coaches back for a two-game series.

All four men are active in the local hockey community. Swanson and Martin grew up in Eagle River, while DeCaro is a Washington native who now lives in Eagle River while the Minnesota-raised McEnaney is a former UAA captain and Aces MVP and who now coaches youth hockey in Eagle River.

They all have decorated hockey resumes, too.

After a dazzling prep career at Chugiak High, Swanson was an NCAA Division I college hockey star at Colorado College before embarking on a pro career that included 70 games in the NHL and a long international career in the German pro leagues. He wrapped his career in Alaska, where he played two seasons for the Aces before retiring after the 2012 season.

McEnaney is one of the top scorers in UAA hockey history, with 161 points scored during his college career. He played for the Aces from 1991-95 and was named team MVP during the Aces’ 1994 Pacific Hockey League championship season. He also coached the 1996 Alaska All Stars Tier I team, the only Alaska squad to win a Tier I national championship.

Martin won an Alaska high school state championship as a defenseman at Chugiak High. He played for the Aces during the 2001-02 season and now coaches local youth hockey.

DeCaro played at Ferris State and UAA before a pro career that included stints in Anchorage and several other minor league teams. He retired from pro hockey after spending the 2013 season with the Sheffield Steelers of the Elite Ice Hockey League.

[[Read more: Make some noise Cowbell Crew — the boys are back in town for Aces alumni game (via ADN)]]

Swanson and DeCaro are on the roster for both nights, while McEnaney and Martin are only planning to play in Saturday’s game.

The alumni will be organized into two teams: “Team Mazzolini” (captained by Nick Mazzolini) and “Team Street” (captained by Keith Street). Keith McCambridge and Mike Ashley will coach the Mazzolini team, with Dean Larson, Dennis Sorensen and Kord Cernich coaching Team Street.

Saturday night’s game is sold out, but as of Friday morning a few tickets were still available for the Friday contest. Both games start at 7 p.m.

Alaska Aces Alumni Game Rosters


Sullivan Arena

Team Mazzolini

Coaches – Mike Ashley and Keith McCambridge

Uniform No. 42 – Nick Mazzolini (captain)

1 – John DeCaro

2 – B.J. Crum

3 – Justin Breton

3 – Justin Martin (Saturday)

6 – Chad Anderson

6 – Lorne Knauft (Friday)

7 – James Martin

9 – Derick Martin

10 – Jim Mayes (Friday)

10 – Ross Ring-Jarvi

13 – Jim Tobin (Friday)

14 – Gregg Zaporzan (Saturday)

15 – Tyler Currier (Saturday)

15 – Brad Gorham (Friday)

15 – Bryan Miller

15 – Brad Richard

21 – Brian Kraft (Friday)

22 – Derek Donald

22 – Matthew Geurts (Friday)

22 – Jason Ryznar

23 – Scott Gomez

23 – Bryant Molle (Saturday)

24 – Jimmy Dahl (Saturday)

25 – Dustin Molle (Saturday)

26 – Sean Curry

33 – Scott Reid

44 – Lee Green

44 – Shawn Skelly

49 – Justin Johnson

Team Street

Coaches – Kord Cernich, Dean Larson and Dennis Sorenson

8 – Keith Street (captain)

4 – Peter Metcalf

7 – Yvan Corbin

7 – Dax Lauwers (Friday)

9 – Peter McEnaney (Saturday)

10 – Trevor Jobe (Friday)

11 – Zach Westin (Friday)

16 – Wes Goldie

14 – Merit Waldrop

12 – Colin Hemingway

13 – Bo Cheesman

13 – Scott Howes

15 – Joey Crabb (Friday)

15 – Brett Hemingway

19 – Kimbi Daniels

19 – William Wrenn (Saturday)

21 – Mike Scott (Saturday)

21 – Steve Ward

25 – Paul Williams

26 – Vladimir Novak

27 – Brian Swanson

30 – Chris Beckford-Tseu

30 – Francis Ouellette

37 – Matt Stefanishion

41 – Matt Shasby

49 – Mike Lee

97 – Chris Newans (Saturday)

Facebook comments