ANR skiers win Besh Cup age group titles at Kincaid Park

Sunday, December 22, 2019 - 17:41
  • Alaska Nordic Racing skiers Adrianna Proffitt, Michael Earnhart and Helen Wilson. (Star file photos)

Alaska Nordic Racing skiers earned three age group victories Saturday and Sunday during the opening weekend of Besh Cup skiing at Kincaid Park.

On Saturday, the local ski club’s Helen Wilson placed first among U20 women and Adrianna Proffitt was second in the division during classic sprint races, with both skiers making the women’s A final. Wilson placed fourth overall and Proffitt was fifth.

Wilson is an Eagle River High grad currntly a freshman at UAA; Proffitt is a senior at Chugiak High.

Mariel Merlii Pulles of Estonia, who skis at the University of Alaska Fairbanks, won the race, with Fairbank Ski Club skiers Kendall Kramer second and Becca Rorabaugh third.

ANR’s Michael Earnhart made the men’s B final to place 14th overall. Earnhart was second among U18 men behind Nils Kolb, a German who currently attends Dimond High. APU and U.S. Olympic Team member Erik Bjornsen won the race, APU’s Luke Jager was third and APu’s Tyler Kornfield was third.

Earnhart is currently a junior at Chugiak High.

On Sunday, Proffitt and Wilson again dueled for the women’s U20 title in the 5-kilometer freestyle race, with Proffitt getting the better of her ANR teammate to place 11th overall and first among U20’s — one spot ahead of Wilson in both.

Kramer won the women’s race and U18 title in 12:55.6, two seconds ahead of Rorabaugh. Proffitt finished in 13:46.7, while Wilson crossed in 13:57.7. ANR’s Emily Walsh was 25th overall and eighth among U18 skiers.

Earnhart finished ninth in the men’s 10-kilometer race and won the U18 men’s division, beating Alaska Winter Stars and Service High skier Alex Maurer of Anchorage by more than 20 seconds. ANR’s Max Beiergrohslein placed 23rd overall and sixth among U18’s.

Schumacher won the overall title in 21:22.1, APU’s Hunter WOners was second and APU’s Forrest Mahlen was third.

Besh Cup races are used to determine which skiers make the Alaska teams for the Junior Olympics and Arctic Winter Games.

Facebook comments